Spring is here!

I’ve been growing my vegetable seeds inside under grow lights, and everything is growing great so far. Right now I have tomatoes, lettuce, peas, peppers, brussels sprouts and broccoli started. It’s been in the 60’s recently, so I started taking them outside to start acclimating/hardening off.

  • 3/24/17: 20 min; sunny; 70° F; windy
  • 3/25/17: 10 min; cloudy; 55° F; windy
  • 3/26/17: 45 min; cloudy; 65° F

You can tell I’ve never done this before by the way I keep ridiculous notes on things.

hardenoffseedlings
My sweet, sweet baby plants

My Asclepias tuberosa (Butterfly Weed) seeds that I planted last week are also doing great. All of them are up and have two tiny oval leaves. I think I may have planted a few more midweek. Most of the peat pots in the top tray above are A. tuberosa.

I tried germinating some other native Ohio wildflowers that need stratification using the water/hydrogen peroxide method. Some germinated, most didn’t.

Did not germinate:

  • Hibiscus laevis (Rose Mallow)
  • Vernonia missurica (Missouri Ironweed)
  • Eupatorium maculatum (Joe Pye Weed)
  • Geranium maculatum (Wild Geranium)

Germinated:

I threw some random seeds from an Echinacea mix in, too. There were 3 or 4 from that that germinated. Pretty sure 1 was butterfly weed. So any of the above that germinated are all potted up now, along with a few more butterfly weed.

nativeseedplanting
Potting up today’s germinators

And here’s my current view because it’s pretty:

IMG_1044.JPG

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

